Ho Ho How about those Christmas memories?


Gifts are nice right? Christmas and birthdays people ask you what you want and they go out and buy it for you. They wrap it up in paper with a bow or a ribbon and maybe a little note.


It is exciting to say the least. But at the risk of sounding trite, family is more important during these times. To me it is not about the gift or the price but for a brief moment I can make someone smile. It’s also being around people that you love that makes these cold days warmer.

I did ask for stuff from my wife for Christmas, but all I could ever really want is what I have right now. My wife and my kids. For them to know they are loved and safe. That no matter what happens in life I will always be there for each one them.

Most of my Christmas memories I remember from childhood didn’t involve toys. It was the smells, the sounds and the sites. The smell of cinnamon and oranges, mixed with pine and the sugary sweetness of cookies and chocolate goodies. To hear Bing Crosby singing “White Christmas” to this still fills me with excitement. It is hard to let that go.


The beautiful Christmas trees my mom put in every room. The snow covered earth glowing from a brightly lit moon. The steam from my breath with every exhale, the chill of the winter air on my nose and finger tip, I wanted it to last forever.

Taste, touch, hear and smell every sense was covered in Christmas. The one Christmas gift I do remember the most was the NES I remember my mom hid it under some blankets next to the couch. After all the presents were unwrapped she acted like she saw something and told us Santa must have hidden it.

I love Christmas movies!


It’s a Wonderful Life.

A Christmas Story.

Christmas Vacation.

The Muppets Christmas Carol.

Home Alone.

Die Hard. (Have a Yippee Ki-Yay Christmas)

I also love Christmas Music!


Dean Martin.

Nate King Cole.

Bing Crosby.

Frank Sinatra.

Gene Autry.

Elle Fitzgerald.

Just to name a few.

What is one of your most fondest Christmas memories? Please share it with us in the comment section.


Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

