Question Everything: Creation.


I have been undergoing a restructuring of my faith the past couple of years or so. I am not losing my faith but I am questioning things I had once believed.

Some might see this as “back sliding” or “losing faith” “being coerced by ‘the devil'” but I just want to know more about the God I believe in, and His existence is something I am not questioning so please read the whole post before commenting. 

I am going to start at creation, because well that is where it all started right? Right! I remember the old picture Bible books with the illustrations of Adam and Eve standing behind a bush where the bush just covered over the “evil” (penis) “dirty” (vagina) “tempting” (breast) part of the human anatomy, and Eve standing there with the apple in hand.

Sunday school taught us that God created all things, light, dark, animals, plants, and His most prized creation was man and woman.

Do I believe God created us? Yes.

Well that is the end of this blog folks! Thanks for reading!
Come on, I’m not done yet I have some strange questions I need to ask and hopefully some answers wither liked or disliked to be found.

I am going to try and reference a lot of different sources so bare with me.

Question 1: Huh?

Genesis 1: 6-8

“And God said, “Let there be an exspanse in the midst of the waters, and let it separate the waters from the waters.” And God made the expanse and separated the waters that were under the expanse from the waters that were above the expanse. And it was so. And God called the expanse Heaven. And there was evening and there was morning, the second day.”

He made a exspanse that separated two bodies of water and then called it heaven?

Wha-huh?! I know there are some pastors out that probably have figured this out some sort of way but I would like to try myself because that is what this rebuilding of my religion is about.

Exspanse what is it?

ex·panse

ikˈspans/

noun

noun: expanse; plural noun: expanses

an area of something, typically land or sea, presenting a wide continuous surface.

Raqiya is a Hebrew word that has been translated as “firmament”, “expanse”, “dome”, and “vault”.

I added the Hebrew definition just so I could look official.

I am going to pick one thing out of the definition and that is “an area of something,” 

The “something” is defined as “heaven” according to the Bible.

“And God called the expanse Heaven. And there was evening and there was morning, the second day.”

Heaven, where God lives right?

heav·en

ˈhevən/

noun

1.

a place regarded in various religions as the abode of God (or the gods) and the angels, and of the good after death, often traditionally depicted as being above the sky.

synonyms: paradise, nirvana, Zion; 

2.

literary

the sky, especially perceived as a vault in which the sun, moon, stars, and planets are situated.

“Galileo used a telescope to observe the heavens”

synonyms: the sky, the skies, the upper atmosphere, the stratosphere, space; 

Woohoo! Two separate definitions but very similar in a sense.

And the Bible uses both. But in this sense I am sure Genesis is using the later.

Okay so we know exspanse is a area of separation between two waters. And heaven in this case is the sky, the upper atmosphere, the stratosphere, or space.

Cool, makes sense! Wait a second, if exspanse is what we have predefined it to be as heaven that means one of the two water would be the oceans, lakes, rivers and ponds.

What in the hell is the water above the heavens? Are we a bubble floating in some multi-universal ocean, injected with all the right gases and minerals to create and sustain life? Does the Bible talk more about the waters above heaven? To be honest I am not really sure as I am writing this is I read it. For all I know I am lookin at it all wrong maybe the heaven is really just the sky and the atmosphere is the water about the heaven isn’t that where clouds form? No clue!

So as I am closing this post I am left with this thought to ponder, is there more then we know about, even more then what the Bible gives us? With what we are finding out in space now what or who is out there staring back? Who is out there? Are we alone and what would it do to the Christian faith if we aren’t alone? (If anything at all)

This topic is way to big for one post the topic of creation is such a sensitive topic and something people hold dear. This is not meant to down play or degrade creation I am simply asking questions about the little things and some big things.

Thank you for reading. And if you have any insight on this post and want to share it that is what the comment section is for don’t be shy!

2 thoughts on “Question Everything: Creation.

  1. Well, Scruffy, you’re making me think today! Hmm…I want to say that this “water above the heavens” is related to Genesis 2:5-6 where there was no rain in those days but just a mist that went up from the earth. But that raises a few more questions, doesn’t it?!? Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cycles. I think of water cycles to understand creation. The clouds. The rivers. The oceans. The oceans cover the seas. Rivers run the streambeds. Clouds traverse the sky. Am which one most like I? As the heavens are higher than the earth (Isaiah 55), I would suppose that the comparison to God is in the cloud form. Humans as masses often take appearance of oceans. Rains in due season. The heavy rains and light rains. Storms. Hail. Tempest. These are all from God, as he the one who inhabits the cloud-region. But man as compared to ocean. Science, light, understanding snakes between the two, it would seem. Man in his place and God in his.

    Like

Leave a Reply

